We value your privacy

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve personalised content, and analyse our traffic. By clicking "Accept All" you accept this and consent that we share this information with third parties and that your data may be processed in the USA. For more information, please read our .

You can adjust your preferences at any time. If you deny, we will use only the essential cookies and unfortunately, you will not receive any personalised content. To deny, .

  • Home
  • News
  • Brits will need a visa to enter these 30 European countries from 2024 (was 2023)
Breaking News, Drawing, Furniture

Here’s the full list of countries we’ll need to pay an entry fee to visit next year💰

Brits will need a visa to enter the Schengen Area which is made up of 26 EU countries and 4 EFTA countries.

There will be a fee of €7 (about £6) and the ETIAS must be obtained at least 96 hours before entering the zone.

Published by

What is ETIAS and why should I care?

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is a bit like the USA's ESTA program and will cover the Schengen Area which is made up of 26 European Union (EU) countries and 4 European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries.

From early 2024 British travellers will be required to have an ETIAS visa waiver to enter the Schengen Area.

The scheme has been delayed a few times and has been pushed to 2024 but an exact date hasn't been given.

There will be an online form asking some security questions and results should be pretty speedy.

The rules for the amount of time you can spend in the Schengen Area will remain exactly the same as they are now - an allowance of 90 days in the Schengen Area within a 180-day period.

If you want to stay more than 90 days, you will need a different visa entirely. Check the page for the latest travel info.

Do I need to pay the fee every time I enter a Schengen Area country?

No, the visa waver fee lasts for three years, so you will only need to pay again once it expires, or if you get a new passport.

Who does the fee apply to?

The fee only applies to adults aged 18+, those under 18 do not have to pay any fees.

When will the fee start?

The scheme is due to begin early 2024

What countries are included?

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

What countries aren't included?

  • Republic of Ireland - Brits will not need an ETIAS to travel to the Republic of Ireland as it is not in the Schengen Area and the two countries have a longstanding Common Travel Area that predates Schengen Area.

Report a legal concern